The Bikram Diaries

Searching for bliss through 105° of heat

day 26 & 27: balance May 14, 2009

Filed under: my bikram diary — Celine @ 2:55 pm

My balance has been shot the last few classes. I think I’m doing something wrong (well obvi), but I don’t really know what it is because I am but a newbie yogi. When I do the balancing series, my supporting foot just feels SO taxed and it’s near impossible to hold a position for 30 seconds. I haven’t felt that way since I was literally on my first week of yoga … is it because I’m not locking my leg enough and thus the pressure sinks to my feet? Would be grateful for some input.

And in an effort to bring balance to my life, I am taking a much needed vacation! I had the kind of week where I couldn’t stand hearing my own name anymore. THAT’S how many people seemed to be pulling me in different directions. I am leaving with some unresolved issues (um, like what apartment to move into in June, for one) but nothing that can’t wait a week or so. I’m just so grateful that I’m getting the chance to get away. I’ll be away from the practice which will suck because I hate starting over, but I’m sure some boozing and fine dining in Vegas and Napa, and some quality time with my family in Seattle who I haven’t seen in over a year will be very very good for me. Au revoir and chat with you in a couple of weeks!

 

One Response to “day 26 & 27: balance”

  1. L Says:

    have a great trip, and you can practice in Vegas, bikram green valley is a beautiful studio.

    re: the balancing series: have you tried “grounding” your foot first? ground the big toe and then the foot first, see if that helps any.


Leave a Reply

