The Bikram Diaries

Searching for bliss through 105° of heat

day 23 & 24: someone’s been a bad yogi May 1, 2009

Filed under: my bikram diary — Celine @ 4:12 pm
Tags:

white-wine-pour-225Guilty as charged.

I’ve been a very, very bad yogi. So many days passed between day 23 and 24 that I was quite afraid to go to class. It doesn’t help that I was not on my best behavior during said break. There were birthdays, friends visiting from out of town, and the first 80° weekend of the year so I put Bikram on the backburner and went back to my old ways of boozing, scarfing down fatty food at all hours of the night, and being plain old lazy, lying in the sun in Central Park all Saturday and Sunday afternoon rather than getting some exercise.

On Monday, feeling all repentant, I shoved myself into Bikram and allowed my butt to thoroughly get kicked. But then I got home and instead of resting, I stayed up til 3AM reading New Moon (yes, I have a vampire infatuation like a silly 14-year-old). I woke up on Tuesday with a terribly sore throat and body pains. Shit. I was sick.

The moment I felt my body all weak and aching, I felt thoroughly annoyed with myself. I don’t know if it was just my imagination, but since starting Bikram I’d been feeling healthy as a horse. When I was doing it religiously, I could sit by a draft in the office, get caught in hot/cold tempts constantly, and be around ill people without catching anything. I felt so healthy, so invincible. But I “fell off the wagon” so to speak, and next thing I knew, I was ill, ill, ill. Arrrrrgh.

I’ve been resting for the past few days (I don’t want to push my immune system, what with everyone in NY scared sh*tless over the swine flu—myself included) but am hoping I can make it to Bikram tomorrow and just get healthy again. Does anyone know if it’s okay to go to Bikram when just recovering from being sick, or is that pushing it? Would love to hear from the experienced yogis out there 🙂

 

3 Responses to “day 23 & 24: someone’s been a bad yogi”

  1. Dharma Says:

    The studio I go to sent out an email that said even if you feel a bit ill, don’t come to class for the sake of other people. They are concerned about swine flu, but I think it is better to let your body rest completely before heading back to class – even if it is to benefit other people 🙂

  2. clairmeiz Says:

    Rest up! You’ll feel worse during and after class. Get your body back to its regular running condition, or at least wait till the sickness subsides a little.

    Good luck!

  3. bikramdiaries Says:

    Thank you Dharma and clairmeiz for the advice! I think the yoga gods rewarded me for taking pains not to infect fellow yogis by giving me my best class ever when I finally came back. There really is such a thing as karma!


Leave a Reply

