The Bikram Diaries

Searching for bliss through 105° of heat

day 20: move as one April 15, 2009

Filed under: my bikram diary — Celine @ 11:53 pm
Tags:

Maybe it’s cos I’m a suffering student and not a teacher of Bikram, but I always thought, “Yeah right” when teachers say things like, “Thank you, this was an amazing class” at the end of the 90-minute torturefest. But today I actually felt what they mean by “an amazing class.” The class today had very good energy. Everyone seemed extremely focused and determined to do their best. Our teacher seemed extra attentive and I picked up so many instructions that I’d never heard before (though they could have been said over and over again, it doesn’t mean that I actually picked it up!).  I felt a push to kick harder, fall way back, and bend more when I sensed the yogis around me pushing themselves to their limits. I was once the yogi who could barely get through 4 poses, and it never occurred to me that what I was feeling could actually affect those around me. When I see a yogi who’s overcome with exhaustion and is sitting still, waiting for it to pass, I’m not badly affected. But those who express their suffering out loud or worse, step out of the class, have a stronger effect on me. Commiserating can be the end of your practice. It’s important for the entire group’s practice to give out good energy, rather than suck it out.

Good lord, I can’t believe I wrote all that above. Bikram is turning me into a crunchy granola hippie, if not in action, then definitely in mind!granola

 

2 Responses to “day 20: move as one”

  1. Dharma Says:

    I stumbled on your site today after looking for an interesting blog on Bikram. I’ve been trying to get back into bikram for a while now and it is great to get inspiration from reading your posts. 2 years ago, I completed a 30 day challenge and I was so proud (but also very tired lol). Good luck with your adventure and I’ll be reading 🙂

    • bikramdiaries Says:

      Thank you so much for your comment Dharma! Wow I can only dream of doing the 30 day challenge right now … I can’t even seem to fit 7 days into my schedule! Thank you for reading, it might be a little kooky since I’m such a newbie, but glad to have you dropping in for a read!


Leave a Reply

